Building materials

All things related to 2548 Scale

Moderator: hbartel

draftman1

Building materials

Post by draftman1 »

I am new to scale and I see that alot of planes are made out of foam. what kind of foam is it? I normaly build spads but some planes are not spaddable. I have looked at all of the build threads and wow, there are a few talented builders out there. thanks for any info
crash_out

Post by crash_out »

Hello there, welcome to the RCCA forum!

Most of the scale planes are built from insulation foam. It's generally available at home improvement or building supply stores. The two major brands are Dow and Owens Corning, which make blue and pink foam, respectively. It's really as simple as cutting the general shape using a bandsaw or hot wire cutter, then sanding to final form. Wings are a bit more complicated.

For a really good article, check out http://www.georgiacombat.com/Eindex.html . There are a couple of links to building a scale plane from scratch. You can also check out the instructions page at www.jkaerotech.com for some good info. Finally, check out the 2548, electric ww2, and scale building section of the forum-there are a lot of sifferent ideas scattered through there!
draftman1

Post by draftman1 »

Ok Crash, thanks for the info. my biggist problem is that non of the lumber yards and home centers carry bluecor or the pink stuff around here. I gota find it out of town. I still have some time till the event. there sure are some nice planes in the build threads. thank you
crash_out

Post by crash_out »

We didn't get anything larger than 1 inch around here until recently, and even now the 2 inch we get is scored every 8 or 16 inches, severely limting the size of parts we can get. Some areas of the country simply don't carry it at all. They will offer to order it for you, provided you order about $1000 worth...
Ed Kettler

Post by Ed Kettler »

We get our blue foam from a commercial refridgeration firm (walk in resturant sized refridgs)