Combat SPADs

SPAD Combat designs and discussions
For more, visit http://www.spadworld.net

Moderator: hbartel

RH

Combat SPADs

Post by RH »

I'd like to hear from other SPADers about how your combat SPADs are doing in competition with the foam wing rigs out there.

With all the wrangling about classes that is going on, I keep hearing that SPADs are no longer competitive and can't survive the inevitable contact. These comments always tick me off and scare me as well. I don't want SPADs to get left out when rules are getting drafted defining types of construction.

For those of you that don't know me, and since credibility seems to always become an issue, I have been flying SPADs in combat for three years. I flew open B and SSC at Paris this spring, I have flown 37 rounds of NPS this summer, have won a local open B and an SSC event and placed 3rd once.

Some of you have seen my maple stick fuses and fiberglass rod in the leading edge 2mm coro wings. My fleet consists of 4 birds, 2 for each class. I have flown these 4 all summer through many a midair and they are still ticking. Starting to show some wear but a lot of life left. I have gone wing to wing with the foamers many a time and usually come out on the better end of the stick. My birds are not the fastest in the sky but they match my 50 year old reflexes and I get my share of the cuts.

I am too much of a SPADaholic to fly a foam wing thing and plan on posting some pics of what is working for me. What are some of you other folks doing? Let's not let SPADs get swept under the carpet!

rh
adamdb

Post by adamdb »

Randy,
You know me, if they outlaw SPADs I will stop flying combat altogether. I don't have the time it takes to build and armor a foamie.

You have seen my flying wings fly. I think they are the equal in performance of anything out there. I don't get many cuts because I ain't that good on the sticks. It has nothing to do with the abilities of the plane.

What works for me is as follows: