Bubble-free tanks?

Check here for the latest and greatest engine modifications.

Moderator: hbartel

gsjames

Bubble-free tanks?

Post by gsjames »

In the 50's and 60's, control line guys used a flexible liner in their home-made tanks that was filled up and then collapsed as the fuel was drawn out. Sort of like the no-burp baby bottle liners that you may have seen. If I remember right, they used latex balloons as the liner. The advantage of this is that there is absolutely no "foaming" in the fuel system and the fuel draw is consistant.

Is anyone using a bubble-free tank in RC Combat? If so, what are you using for a liner?

I have a lot of experience with bladders, and would be comfortable with them for Open B but what to try the various suction type of systems for SSC before I switch to bladders for SSC.
Alex Treneff

Post by Alex Treneff »

Gary,

There are actually a fair number of guys already using bladders for combat, just as there are using clunk tanks. If you want to try a bladder, you can place one inside the clunk tank.

In practice, I've never seen much advantage to be gained from using bladders, especially in SSC where max RPM is limited.

On the other hand, I have seen guys not get launched on time when their bladder enexpectedly bursts, or get sprayed with fuel when trying to fill them up. Another one of the other major bladder-turnoffs for me is the needle sensitivity. Although there are some guys that know what they're doing and can usually make the bladder setup run well, many guys spend more time futzing with the needle than they do flying and then suffer "lean runs" when it's not set correctly.

Bladder/Clunk is mostly a matter of personal preference, and since you have a lot of experience with bladders you may fair better than most. Can't hurt to try! [:)]
mark s

Post by mark s »

James,